Imposter Syndrome

The least motivational thing you will hear today: The first man who walked on the moon has imposter syndrome and you can too!

Seriously. This has been weighing on my mind quite a bit lately. Everyone seems to have imposter syndrome to some extent.

Now, you might ask what imposter syndrome is if you have never heard of it. It is when a high achieving individual cannot internalize their accomplishments and is afraid of being ousted as a “fraud.” If you want to learn more, you can click on the link and it will lead you to a handy wikipedia article explaining everything about it.

Now, if you are a high achieving individual who can internalize your success, then good on you. I am proud of you. I cannot seem to, though. No matter how well I do, I never feel like my successes are my own. I never feel like I am good enough to own them. Because I feel like this, it makes it hard to even try to accomplish more than I already am. I run a part-time crafting business, I go to school full-time, and it never seems to be “enough” in my mind.

I may not look it, but I have severe anxiety. It causes me to have this imposter syndrome. It causes me to self sabotage, because my successes can never truly be my successes. It means that I have to work harder to feel successful because at every turn I am trying to tear myself down.

I am learning more about myself every day. I am trying to find ways to combat this. I will be able to internalize my successes someday.

Leave a Reply

