An adventure into the great big unknown

I have talked about this very little – in exactly a week, I leave to go on an adventure into the great big unknown.
For those of you who know me, I have lived with my parents for almost 21 years. I went to community college right after high school and stayed home. I have never been away from home or my immediate family for more than four days at a time. This all changes next Thursday.
Next Thursday I leave to go on a field biology course in the Rocky Mountains. I will be gone for 16 days. During this time, I will be hiking, camping, and exploring everything that is not Illinois. We will be going to parks in Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming. Having never been past Iowa, I am incredibly excited.
Excited…. and just a little bit terrified.
There is so much world out there that I have yet to see, and this is just the tip of the iceberg.
I will be spending my birthday away from home (I will be 21 by the way, all booze gifts can be delivered to my doorstep and I shall inspect them upon my return;). Knowing me, I’ll miss everyone. The pay out is that I will be gaining experience for my future career and making new friends.
The part I am most excited about is visiting Yellowstone National Park for three days and being at Devil’s Tower on my birthday.
I will have more to write about upon my return. See you all in 3 weeks.

Leave a Reply

