Ecotopia and saving the world

A few months ago, one of my friends recommended the book “Ecotopia” by Ernest Callenbach to me; just the first book on my ever growing list of books I need to read. Without hesitation I bought a used copy off Amazon and put it in the stack of books I was going to read eventually. When I initially purchased it and received the book, I was reading “Silent Spring” by Rachel Carson, another book that I would recommend to someone just beginning to dip their toes into environmental issues. 71yJb6XiRfL
My little, devoted heart could not take any more bad news after reading that book, but I picked up “Ecotopia” right away. It was different than what I expected it to be and my friend almost received a call with me on the other end asking,”What kind of book did I agree to read?!” But rest assured, he did not receive that call.
To give a brief synopsis of the book: Ecotopia consists of northern California, Washington, and Oregon. They decided to secede from the rest of the United States to form an ecotopia. They live sustainably and within their means. The people have nearly eliminated the need for cars, having a train and bus system that works well for them. They live in family units, choosing not to live alone. They do not mass produce anything except for parts, in which people take to build their own things from. All in all, it’s a beautiful society. An American journalist travels there to write about the life the people of Ecotopia live and his American values begin to fade away.
Callenbach writes about this society in earnest. He writes about all the positive things he think will come from that type of society, while still remaining critical about what will and will not work. It helps keep the reader in a position to be able to question and remain critical themselves.
The book gave me many ideas for how I want to live my life and how I think this country should be able to live. The United States, as a whole, is in a place economically that a society like Ecotopia could be created and on a large scale. There would be many kinks to work out regarding transportation and infrastructure, but those would all come with good planning.
All in all, I would like to see our society make a movement towards what Ecotopia is. If anyone would like to have a discussion regarding the book, feel free to contact me.

Leave a Reply

