My First Book Review – Born Confused by Tanuja Desai Hidier

wpid-imag0099.jpgBorn Confused by Tanuja Desai Hidier
Genre: Fiction
Theme: Coming of Age
Rating: 9/10

Synopsis:
“Dimple Lala doesn’t know what to think. She’s spent her whole life resisting her parents’ traditions. But now she’s turning seventeen and things are more complicated than ever. She’s still recovering from a year-old break-up and her best friend isn’t around the way she used to be. Then, to make matters worse, her parents arrange for her to meet a “suitable boy.” Of course, it doesn’t go well … until Dimple goes to a club and finds him spinning a magical web of words and music. Suddenly the suitable boy is suitable because of his sheer unsuitability. Complications ensue.

This is a story about finding yourself, finding your friends, finding love, and finding your culture — sometimes where you least expect it.”

Thoughts:
Originally, this book caught my eye in a bookstore located in Publisher’s Row in Chicago. After about five minutes of debating whether I really needed the book, I bought it. Then after three months of it sitting on my bookshelf, I finally picked it up to dive into its pages. It took me from November to May to finish reading it.

If you are looking for an unconventional heroine and a good story, then this is the book for you. This is the first book I have read in which the hero/heroine is not of European descent of some form or another. It is well written and brings light to a culture other than my own.

Throughout the book, Dimple claims that she was born confused. Born to Indian parents in America, she struggles to find her identity. Is she Indian or is she American? She’s more Indian than any of her American friends and more American than any of the South Asian people she knows.

Although it is difficult for me to even begin to relate to the struggle that Dimple faces, through reading the story I was able to step into her shoes for just a little bit and see the world through her eyes. Through reading this book, I lived Dimple’s life and was able to be someone besides myself for the length of time which I read this book.

So, this book is rated highly. Not because I was able to relate to Dimple, but because I was not.

If you want to know more about the awesome author, you can find her at http://thisistanuja.com/
She is not only a writer, but a singer and a songwriter. She is currently based in London.
The sequel to “Born Confused” is titled “Bombay Blues”. I can only hope to be able to read that book one day as well.
Thank you for reading my first book review. There are many more to come.

Leave a Reply

