Just Another Week

It has been another regular week in the life of me. Okay, maybe not exactly regular. Not quite normal either.
This week I started my work in the animal department at Wildlife Prairie Park. I am doing work in the aviary, helping to feed birds and clean out their enclosures. It is so cool being able to see all of these indigenous birds up close and personal.
On Monday, I did that and then volunteered in the school house that is on the property. There were lots of people that went through and I was able to talk to them and teach them a little bit about the history of the school house.
Wednesday I expected to be doing the same thing, but it rained all day. It was dark and gross, barely anyone came to the Park; that is except for the church group that came from somewhere in northern Illinois. So because of the rain, we fed out all of the animals in the Park in the morning, which is not normal. In the morning, before it was decided that we would feed out the animals, an intern and myself went through and fed the loop animals. The loop animals include deer, longhorn, Mike the Bison, Spiffy the miniature horse, and some sheep and goats. It was a fun thing to do and it was exciting to pet a deer for the first time. They are called the petting deer for a reason. I also got to ride in an all terrain vehicle for the first time. It’s called a Gator.
I helped another intern with a bunch of different feeding jobs after that, and got to pet a baby skunk as well as having a small raccoon nearly climb up my leg. There are so many things that go on at the Park; it is unbelievable.
After that was all over, I was supposed to open up the school house, but because the poor attendance of the park that day and the rain in the forecast, I was given the go-ahead not to open it and go home for the day.

While I have not been at the park, I have gotten some reading done. I also did some knitting.
Unfortunately, I do not have any awesome pictures this week. They will just have to wait until the next time I post.

Leave a Reply

