Great Expectations – Greater Opportunities

On Monday, I threw my hands up in the air as a sign of defeat. At nineteen, one is not supposed to have their life figured out, or at least that is what everyone tells me. Nonetheless, I threw my hands up in the air and I cried for about an hour.
This has been hitting me a lot lately in the past few months; this feeling of despair, because my expectations for myself are so much higher than that which I can accomplish (or at least that is what I think).

Photo courtesy of Glogster
Photo courtesy of Glogster

Much like Pip, I have great expectations for myself (except, I do not aspire to be a gentleman). Whether or not I am able to live up to these expectations remains to be seen, but there is hope that one day I will be able to accomplish all of the goals I have set for myself.
With these great expectations, come greater opportunities. In the past week alone, many doors have opened up for me and it makes me excited about what the future could possibly hold. There is no way I could have possibly imagined these doors a year ago and it makes me unbearably happy (read: emotional).

Next week I will have a better idea of what is coming from these doors. At this point I have opened them up just a crack and am discovering what they hold for me. I am extremely excited. So, perhaps it is a good idea to keep these high expectations?

What do you all of you think? Are high expectations good or bad?
Comment below and tell me your thoughts and feelings.

Leave a Reply

