Backpedaling

Let me be the one to say it; Mercury in retrograde sucks. There I said it, finally. Mercury in retrograde sucks and I feel like I am backpedaling to the max. For those of you who do not know what Mercury in retrograde is, it is when the planet Mercury slows down and appears to stop, looking like it is moving backwards. For those in the spiritual community, and even those who are not, it can be a hard time. It is best not to focus on it, but dang I have been doing nothing but focusing on it. During this time, one is not supposed to make serious plans, spend money on anything big, and it is supposedly a time for rest and rejuvenation. I have not been following any of these suggestions. I find myself making plans, spending money, and doing everything at the helter-skelter pace that I usually move at. If you want more information, here is a fun link to what Mercury retrograde is all about.

During the past week I have been doing a lot of reflection and I have been thinking about what I want out of my life. At this point, I think the way I want my life to go is what is supposed to happen. I firmly believe that I create my own destiny. No one else creates it for me. I am responsible for me and no one else can go about creating the life I want for myself. That being said, I came to the sudden realization on Tuesday night that I will be graduating from my community college at the end of the calendar year after two and a half years of attending classes there. My next step is to go through a knitting instructor certification. It will take six months but I will also be guaranteed a job (I think).

In the past week I have done quite a bit of crafting as well. I finished the scarf I was working on (the light blue one) and started another small project, per request of my mother. If anything, the second scarf I am avidly working on now (the one I pictured in the last blog post) is teaching me perseverance.
“I press on against all odds until my goal is met, and the task is finished.” is what the virtue of perseverance in the nine noble virtues of the Odinic Rite states. I must persevere to finish my task and not stop until the task is completed. Mostly, I just hope that my honey likes this scarf.

It is growing a little bit more!
It is growing a little bit more!

I taught myself to knit on double pointed needles rather successfully too. (pictured below). I think that if my grandmother were still around she would be rather proud of me.

I can knit socks to infinity now!
I can knit socks to infinity now!

The other thing I am working on is a little uterus plushie. I have no pictures of that, though. You will all have to wait with baited breath for that picture.

And when I have not been knitting, I have been doing some writing. I got a page and a half of writing done and I am pretty proud of myself because I have not written at all in the few months prior to this. I will start sharing a little bit of my writing with you all once I have done more. My “portfolio” is somewhat bare bones right now.  To top it all off, I only got a little bit of reading done this week. Not enough for my liking, but it will have to do for now.

IMAG0056

And with that, I leave you until next week. Please like, comment, and follow! See you all soon.

Leave a Reply

